An Adventure Based Navigation Sport

Orienteering Australia is the national body responsible for the organisation and promotion of orienteering throughout Australia.

 Latest e-newsletters & free registration

Orienteering Australia on:

  Twitter ”Facebook” YouTube ”Flickr”

WOC Team Blog JWOC Team Blog




Orienteering Australia major award winners

Wednesday, 23 April 2014


Photo: Christine Brown being presented with her award by OA President Blair Trewin.

Christine Brown (Tasmania) has received the 2014 SILVA Award for Services to Orienteering after many years of outstanding service at the State, national and international levels. The David Hogg Medal for Event Management went to Ross Barr (NSW) who has been organising the Sydney Summer series for the last 23 years, overseeing its expansion throughout the metropolitan area. The SILVA Coach of the Year is Ian Dalton (WA) who has involved in both schools coaching and MTBO coaching for many years. The 2013 Athlete of the Year recognising outstanding international achievement is Grace Crane (Tasmania). The 2013 SILVA Orienteer of the Year is Warren Key (Victoria).

 On Sunday at Clandulla Big Foot (NSW) (photo below) edged out Bush Flyers (ACT) to win the Australian Club Championship.

More News
Orienteering Australia major award winners Wednesday, 23 April 2014 OA major award winners at the Annual Dinner on Sunday were Christine Brown (Services to Orienteering), Ross Barr (Event Management), Ian Dalton (Coach of the Year), Grace Crane (Athlete of the Year) and Warren Key (Orienteer of the Year).
Orienteering Australia major award winners Wednesday, 23 April 2014 OA major award winners at the Annual Dinner on Sunday were Christine Brown, Ross Barr, Ian Dalton, Grace Crane and Warren Key.
Australian team for JWOC announced Tuesday, 22 April 2014 Orienteering Australia is pleased to announce the Australian team for the 2014 Junior World Orienteering Championships: Girls: Michele Dawson, Lanita Steer, Anna Dowling, Nicola Blatchford, Asher Steer, Olivia Sprod. Boys: Matt Doyle, Brodie Nankervis, Oscar McNulty, Henry McNulty, Oliver Poland, Ashley Nankervis.
Allston and Uppill take the honours at Easter Tuesday, 22 April 2014 Hanny Allston and Simon Uppill took out convincing wins over the Easter weekend in the Rylstone region of New South Wales.
OA meetings this weekend Thursday, 17 April 2014 OA Committee meetings will be held this Saturday afternoon from 2.30pm at Kandos High school and the AGM at Rylstone Community Hall at 3.30pm on Sunday afternoon.
Entries now open for Australian Championships Carnival in WA Tuesday, 15 April 2014 Entries for all events at the Karrak Karnival – the Australian Championships carnival 2014 in Western Australia from September 27th to October 5th are now open through Eventor. See 2014ausochamps.com for details.
AUS MTBO CHAMPS in ALICE SPRINGS. Wednesday, 2 April 2014 Promotional item re 2014 Australian MTBO Championships.
ASADA Anti-doping annual updates needed. Thursday, 27 March 2014 As part of Orienteering Australia's aim in keeping our sport drug and doping free all national squad athletes are required to undertake annual updates via ASADA's anti-doping online education courses. These need to be completed by Easter.